QEP Resources oil company rigs at sunset.


The Board of Directors and the Management Team for QEP Resources bring a wealth of industry experience and technical expertise to drive strategic growth for the company and create value for our shareholders.

Charles B. Stanley
Chairman, President & Chief Executive Officer
Richard J. Doleshek
Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer
Jim E. Torgerson
Executive Vice President, QEP Energy
Jeffery R. Tommerup
Senior Vice President, Production & HSE
Christopher K. Woosley
Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Corporate Secretary
William J. Buese
Vice President, Finance & Treasurer
Jamie C. Cutler
Vice President, Chief Information Officer
Margo D. Fiala
Vice President, Human Resources
Jonny L. Gent
Vice President, Drilling
Alice B. Ley
Vice President, Controller & Chief Accounting Officer
Michael C. Puchalski
Vice President, Business Development
Vincent G. Rigatti
Vice President, Exploration & Chief Geoscientist
R. John Ruskauff
Vice President, Marketing
Matthew T. Thompson
Vice President, QEP Energy
Michael K. Watanabe
Vice President, Land
Dane E. Allen
Assistant Corporate Secretary & Senior Corporate Counsel
Member of QEP Management Committee

Charles B. Stanley

Chairman, President, and CEO
Mr. Charles B. Stanley has served as President, CEO and a director of QEP since June 2010 and Chairman of the Board since May 2012. He also served in the same roles for QEP Midstream Partners, GP, LLC, the general partner of QEP Midstream Partners from 2013 until December 2014. He served as Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of Questar until the 2010 spin-off from Questar Corporation. Mr. Stanley also served as a director of Questar from 2002 until the spin-off. Prior to joining Questar, he served as President, CEO and a director of El Paso Oil and Gas Canada, an upstream oil and gas company from 2000 to 2002, and as President and CEO of Coastal Gas International Company, a midstream infrastructure development company, from 1995 to 2000. He is a director of Hecla Mining Company and serves on the boards of various natural gas industry trade organizations, including the American Exploration and Production Council and the American Petroleum Institute.

Phillips S. Baker, Jr.

Mr. Phillips S. Baker, Jr. has served as a director of QEP since the spin-off from Questar Corporation in 2010. He served as a director of Questar from 2004 until the spin-off. Mr. Baker is the President, CEO and a director of Hecla Mining Company, a gold and silver mining company. Mr. Baker served as Chief Financial Officer of Hecla from May 2001 to June 2003, and as Chief Operating Officer of Hecla from November 2001 to May 2003, before being named as CEO in May 2003. Mr. Baker has 30 years of business experience, including 18 years of financial management; 10 years as CEO of an NYSE-listed company; and more than 20 years of directorships of public companies.

Julie A. Dill

Ms. Julie A. Dill has been a director of the company since May 2013. She is the Chief Communications Officer for Spectra Energy Corp. and also serves on the board of Spectra Energy Partners. Ms. Dill has a wealth of experience in the energy sector, having served in a number of executive capacities in the natural gas and power industries. Before assuming her current role in January 2014, she was the Group Vice President of Strategy for Spectra Energy and the President and CEO of Spectra Energy Partners, L.P. from 2012 until 2013, and prior to that she served as President of Union Gas Limited from 2007 to 2011. Previously, she served in various financial and operational roles with Duke Energy and Shell Oil Company.

Robert F. Heinemann

Dr. Robert F. Heinemann has served as a QEP director since January 2014. He brings significant E&P expertise to QEP’s board through his experience as President, CEO and a director of Berry Petroleum Company, where he developed and executed that company’s growth and capital allocation strategies. He served as a director of Berry from 2002 until 2013, and as President and Chief Executive Officer from 2004 through 2013. Previously, Dr. Heinemann worked for Halliburton Company, Mobil Exploration and Producing and other Mobil entities, in positions of increasing responsibility. Dr. Heinemann currently serves as a director of Crescent Point Energy Corporation and Yates Petroleum Corporation, and he previously served as chairman of the board of C12 Energy, LLC until late 2015. He has more than 30 years of experience in the oil and gas industry in a number of technical, operational, technology, management and executive roles.

M. W. Scoggins

Dr. M. W. Scoggins has been a QEP director since 2010 and served as Lead Director from May 2012 until May 2016. He served as a director of Questar from 2005 until the 2010 spin-off from Questar Corporation. He is President Emeritus of the Colorado School of Mines (Mines), an engineering and applied science research university. He served as Mines' President from June 2006 until July 2015. Dr. Scoggins retired in 2004 after a 34-year career with Mobil Corp. and Exxon Mobil Corp. From 1999 to 2004, he served as Executive Vice President of Exxon Mobil Production Co. Prior to the merger of Mobil and Exxon in late 1999, Dr. Scoggins was President, International Exploration & Production and Global Exploration, and an officer and member of the executive committee of Mobil Oil Corp.

Dr. Scoggins currently serves as a director of Cobalt International Energy and Laredo Petroleum Holdings, Inc. He served on the board of Trico Marine Services from 2005 until 2011, and Venoco, Inc. from 2007 until 2012. In addition, he is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of The University of Tulsa and the National Board of Directors of Gilcrease Museum.

William L. Thacker, III

Mr. William L. Thacker, III, has been a director since February 2014. Mr. Thacker served as non-executive Chairman of the Board of Copano Energy LLC from 2009 through 2013 (he served on the Copano board beginning in 2004). Previously, he served as Chairman and CEO of TEPPCO Partners. Mr. Thacker also served on the board of Pacific Energy Management prior to the sale of Pacific Energy Partners to Plains All American Pipeline in 2006. He served on the board of GenOn Energy Inc. from January 2006 until November 2012 when GenOn merged with NRG Energy. He also serves on the boards of the Kayne Anderson Midstream Energy Fund and the Kayne Anderson Energy Development Company.

David A. Trice

Lead Director
Mr. David A. Trice was appointed to serve as Lead Director in May 2016. He has been a QEP director since 2011. He was CEO of Newfield Exploration Company (Newfield), an oil and natural gas exploration and production company from 2000 until his retirement in 2009. He also served as Chairman of the Board of Newfield from 2004 until 2010. Mr. Trice has served as a director of New Jersey Resources Corporation since 2004, and McDermott International, Inc. since 2009. Mr. Trice previously served as a director of Grant Prideco, Inc. from 2003 to 2008, as a director of Hornbeck Offshore Services, Inc. from 2002 until February 2011, and as a director of privately held Crazy Mountain Brewery, LLC from 2011 until January 2015. He is also a director of Rockwater Energy Solutions, Inc., a privately held company. He served as the Chairman of the American Exploration and Production Council from 2008 to 2009, and as Chairman of America’s Natural Gas Alliance from 2009 to 2010.
QEP Resources, INC.